single mom…. not dating?!?

I have been separated for almost 9 years. I had a fair share of meeting other men from all walks of life and from different nationalities. Being a single mom is a 24/7 on call duty plus I have to keep up with my job in the corporate world. Not that I am complaining but it is quite hard to squeeze in some dating in my life. Plus the fact that if I start dating I would want that man to also accept my kids. Not necessarily as their own but to treat them with love and respect. Although for some they would automatically say “You don’t need a man in your life, you have beautiful and smart kids, what more can you ask for?” I know a person who would say that to me. Try being a single parent before you say such things maybe you will understand better. Well, yes!!! I am happy with my life. I am happy that I have the freedom to go out with people I want to be with, I have all the time in the world to be with my kids, to teach them, nurture them and love them. Come to think of it, I have a simple and peaceful life except for some minor trials here and there. But quite frankly, I might not have the time to date.. Hmm… there comes a moment in my life when I feel lonely especially when the kids are in school or out with their friends. My eldest daughter is turning 19, my second daughter is 15 and my youngest, a boy will be 13 this coming November. These are the teenage years wherein they explore out there on their own and at one point I was left at home. I stared in the mirror. So, this is me when they grow older and have their own lives. I would admit that I felt pity on myself and sadness. I know for a fact that my kids will never leave me alone. If in case I grow old without a partner in life I will definitely be staying with one of them. But going back. It would still be nice to have someone in my life. Not just for SEX!!! but for companionship. Someone I could spend quiet afternoons, sipping coffee and talking anything under the sun. Someone who will just hold my hand and be there whenever I feel alone and sad. To share my happiness, my dreams and my victories. My kids are cool with me dating other men. But I feel that the right partner will come. No need to rush, no need to panic. So for all single moms out there. In my opinion there is no harm in dating. Just be careful, there are a lot of men who thinks we are easy and vulnerable. Men may come and go but our kids will forever be there for us.

So Single Moms, no harm in dating. As long as we do not forget that first and foremost we are wonderful MOM’s to our precious children.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

